Johnson County was established on December 13, 1834, when it separated from Lafayette County. Johnson County was named after R.M. Johnson, a Kentucky senator and later vice president of the United States. As of 2015 Johnson County has an estimated population of 53,951. There are seven municipalities located in Johnson County: Centerview, Chilhowee, Holden, Kingsville, Knob Noster, Latour, Leeton and Warrensburg, which is the county seat. Communities that no longer qualify as incorporated towns, but are still recognized on our county maps include: Burtville, Columbus, Cornelia, Dunksburg, Elm, Ernestville, Fayetteville, Magnolia, Medford, Montserrat, Owsley, Pittsville, Post Oak, Rose Hill, Slab Town and Sutherland. Johnson County's most famous resident is not a man or a woman, but a dog named Old Drum, who was wrongly accused as a sheep-killer by his owner's neighbor and was shot and killed. If Charles Burden had not loved his favorite hunting dog as The did, the unusual trial of Burden vs. Hornsby would never have occurred and George Graham Vest would never have had the opportunity to make his classic eulogy to all dogs. A statue of the infamous hound, along with the moving speech, stands immortalized on the Courthouse Square. To this day, over one hundred years after the fact, the statue and the story behind it still bring visitors from across the country.


The information on this web site is provided to assist users in obtaining information about county jail arrests. Any use of this data for any other purpose may be illegal. While the information on this website is believed by the website owner to be reliable, it is provided „as is“ with no warranties or guarantees regarding its accuracy. An arrest or booking does not mean that the individual has been convicted or is guilty of the crime. You are advised to contact the appropriate governmental agency to ascertain and verify the information contained on this website. By using this web site, you agree to these terms of usage without warranty.